An Interview with Bailey Ardisone, Author of the Sweet Series

Today I am happy to welcome author Bailey Adrisone, to talk about her Sweet series. Welcome Bailey!

Sweet Series Blitz

Ardisone Author Photo1. Tell us your name, and a link to where we can find you (blog, Facebook, etc).

Hello fellow readers! My name is Bailey Ardisone, and you can find me at https://www.facebook.com/TheSweetSeries

 

2. How many books have you written? This can include both published and unpublished works. Describe each of them in 1-2 sentences apiece (if published, feel free to include the links as well).

I have written two so far:

Sweet Oblivion (Sweet Series, Book 1). When two worlds collide, nightmares become reality – Sweet Oblivion is about learning to not let the crap you are dealt with control your life. It is about rebirth, forgiveness, learning to love for the first time in your life, and friendship.

It is currently FREE everywhere ebooks are sold: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AVAV9AO

Sweet Escape (Sweet Series, Book 2). Sometimes the hardest war to fight is the one Sweet Escape Cover Art_Officialraging within yourself – Sweet Escape is about war, betrayal, deceit, and loyalty. Relationships are tested, and you are left wondering if the characters will come out on the other side unscathed.

Currently available everywhere ebooks are sold: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00E56G6IU

 

3. Tell me a little bit about your current WIP.

Sweet Requiem (Sweet Series, Book 3) will continue where Sweet Escape, Book 2, left off. There will be new challenges for the Sweet Series characters to face, and a lot of personal growth for Nariella. She has much to work through, and that will happen in this book.

 

4. What does writing preparation look like for you? Do you do full outlines and character profiles, or do you just start with a general idea and write?

I am a huge day-dreamer. I am constantly dreaming up scenes in my head, and it even keeps me up at night. I go by all the thoughts in my head – I don’t write any outlines down. Everything is all just stuck up in my brain and then comes out when I go to type it out on my laptop.

 

5. Editing is a challenge for many writers. Give us some of your tips for editing efficiently and well.

I edit chapter by chapter, sometimes even paragraph by paragraph as I am writing. If I am really into the scene, then I wait until I am done with the chapter. I completely suck at proper writing grammar, but my first editor – Helen Boswell – taught me so much, that it is way easier for me now. That is my tip – ask your editor questions on everything. I can’t tell you how many emails/questions I shot at Helen (poor thing LOL), but it’s like that saying – teach a man to fish, and he’ll be fed for life. It is true for editing. If you learn WHY things should be the way they are, and learn as much technicality as you can about how sentences should be, it makes the whole thing easier. You can then try to apply that knowledge as you write.

 

Sweet Oblivion Cover Art_AMAZONBS6. Research is another challenge writers face, but is an important part of the writing process. What are some of your research tips?

Oh, I am a HUGE researcher. Even though I write fiction, the realistic stuff (such as a country/culture, etc) must be accurate. It is a huge pet-peeve of mine when authors describe a country (or some other realistic feature in their book) incorrectly. I will not finish the book if it wrong and proper research was not done. So, I google everything, or I will try and ask someone that knows the country/language/etc. if it is possible to do so. I will look up books, or do a lot of reading, just to ensure what I am saying is accurate.

 

7. If you have been published (self or traditionally), what type of marketing did you find worked the best for you? What was the least helpful?

I have never submitted my writing to a traditional publisher, so I chose to be an Indie author, and did research on how to market my book. I am still struggling with it, but I believe the best type of marketing for me is just networking with other authors. The least helpful is when you try to push your books down people’s throats by constantly tweeting about it ten times a day, or posting on FB over and over the same thing. Just help other authors out, and eventually it will come back to you. And bloggers – I don’t know what I would do without bloggers! The ones that do blogging for free are the ones that have treated me the best. I tried the expensive paid blogging route, and it ended horribly for me.

8. What genre do you write in? What are some of the challenges to writing this particular genre well?

So far I have only written fantasy/romance, and the challenges for me is trying to describe everything I see in my head correctly. Battle scenes are hard for me to write, because even though I see it playing out perfectly in my head, I never know how to describe it how I see it.

 

9. What advice would you give to a writer who is starting out?

My advice is to JUST DO IT! I know I sound like a Nike commercial, but it is true. Make writing a HIGH priority in your life – because let’s face it, we are all super busy, but the authors that make it are the ones that make writing a high priority in their lives. If you love your story, give it the respect it deserves and get it out. Put it on paper. You will never know until you try, and I guarantee if YOU love it, there WILL be someone else who loves it just as much.

 

10. What are your writing, editing, marketing, and research goals for 2013?

My goal for 2013 is to finish and publish Sweet Requiem, which is the 3rd book in my Sweet Series. Then I want to have the majority of the 4th book done by the end of 2013 so that I can publish it by January 2014. *crosses fingers* Let’s hope, right?! =)

 

11. Pretend I am from a publishing house and you are looking for me to take on one of your books. Pitch it to me in 1-2 paragraphs.

Loneliness. Everyone experiences being lonely from time to time. One girl, who thought she was destined for loneliness during her last year of high school, ends up crashing (literally) into the complete opposite of loneliness. New friendships emerge for the first time in her life, along with new love. But can she handle the nightmares that accompany these new encounters? Her past haunts her, but her future is looking even more frightening than anything she had ever experienced in her life before. Love is knocking on her door, but she refuses to answer. Questions are sprouting up like wicked weeds, but answers seem like long-lost rain during a drought. No one is who they seem, not even her closest friend. Death is around every corner, and all she wants to do is prevent it.

But can she?

This story is about Nariella Woodlinn, and no one is safe in her nightmares or her reality.

 

Then there is a girl who thought she was destined to slavery all her life. But once hope is introduced to her, she risks everything, including her life, to save her kingdom from destruction. Will she succeed in bringing her people’s only hope home? Or will their false king discover her hidden gift?

This story is about Naminé, and her world is dying. Only she has the power to save it.

 

12. Finally, is there anything else you would like your readers to know?

I would like all my readers to know how much I truly appreciate each and every one of you. I could not continue to write the series if I didn’t have your support, so thank you so very much for reading my books. Even if only one person loved them, I would be happy. Thank you, thank you, thank you, for giving them a chance.

4 thoughts on “An Interview with Bailey Ardisone, Author of the Sweet Series

Leave a Reply

