Guest Author: Chelle C. Bird

My guest today is Chelle C. Bird, a New Adult/Contemporary Romance author who is preparing to release her debut book, Just Breathe. She has some excellent insights as a first-time author, including the ever-important emphasis on the importance of great betas!

Please join me in welcoming Chelle to the Guest Author Program!

If you are interested in participating in the program, you can submit here.

Chelle C. Bird

  1. Tell us your name, and a link to where we can find you (blog, Facebook, etcteaser 1 by me and lexHi!  My name is Chelle C. Bird, you can find my author page: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorChelleCBird

    Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7111512.Chelle_C_Bird
    http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17997924-just-breathe

  1. How many books have you written? This can include both published and unpublished works. Describe each of them in 1-2 sentences apiece (if published, feel free to include the links as well).Just Breathe on Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17997924-just-breathe

    Just Breathe is my work in progress, and my first novel.  I am almost finished with it, if the ‘revise… revist…’ doesn’t end me first.  Just Breathe is a New Adult /Contemporary Romance / Fiction book

  2. Tell me a little bit about your current WIP.lexsplosive5-001Life is full of the unexpected, at times the only thing you can do is just breathe…

    For twenty-five year old Cassandra Anderson, life hasn’t been easy. Haunted daily by her own demons and memories of the past, she suffers from panic attacks and questionable anal-retentiveness. “Trust no one, fear nothing…” is the motto that she lives by.

    Bartender Lucas Daniels comes into her life like a whirlwind. Hot enough to melt wax, he is tantalizing, sometimes overbearing, and quite possibly one of her weaknesses. Lucas, having secrets of his own, understands pain all too well.

    Only time can tell what the future holds for them. Will Lucas cause Cass to question everything, will she be drawn to him? Or will they end in resentment?

  3. What does writing preparation look like for you? Do you do full outlines and character profiles, or do you just start with a general idea and write?  I would love to say that I start with a full written outline and character profiles, but that would be a lie. However, when I begin I do have an outline of the story and characters mentally etched into my brain.
  4. Editing is a challenge for many writers. Give us some of your tips for editing efficiently and well. In the beginning I just type out all of my thoughts, and worry about the editing later.   When I edit I do a little at a time, until eventually I have completed the entire piece.   OH and don’t go synonym crazy! Redundancy does bite the big one, but it’s not as bad as accidentally using the wrong word.  I speak from experience.  I have been completely humbled by the people’s support and willingness to help. Having awesome beta readers is a must, thankfully I’ve had amazing betas!
  5. Research is another challenge writers face, but is an important part of the Teaser 44writing process. What are some of your research tips?The ability to ‘Google’ things and not being afraid to ask others has been my biggest research tools.
  6. if you have been published (self or traditionally), what type of marketing did you find worked the best for you? What was the least helpful? I plan to self publish, and add Just Breathe to Amazon, Nook, and Smashwords.
  7. What genre do you write in? What are some of the challenges to writing this particular genre well?New Adult /Contemporary Romance / Fiction book. I would think the challenge would be making your novel stand out.
  8. What advice would you give to a writer who is starting out?Give yourself credit, you are about to embark on a journey that is wilder and faster than you could ever imagine!  Oh, and two words ‘Beta readers,’ I didn’t know what they were for far too long.  I was under the firm belief that a Beta was a letter in the Greek Alphabet and / or a fish, and was unaware of any other meaning.
  9. What are your writing, editing, marketing, and research goals for 2013?I hope to complete Just Breathe and have it released by AT LEAST late Fall.  Then I will begin my next book.
  10. Pretend I am from a publishing house and you are looking for me to take on one of your books. Pitch it to me in 1-2 paragraphs.     
    My current novel is called Just Breathe, it is the first of many, and I would describe it as this:356_4103ff8592055_2246_nLife is full of the unexpected, at times the only thing you can do is just breathe…
    For twenty-five year old Cassandra Anderson, life hasn’t been easy. Haunted daily by her own demons and memories of the past, she suffers from panic attacks and questionable anal-retentiveness. “Trust no one, fear nothing…” is the motto that she lives by.

    Bartender Lucas Daniels comes into her life like a whirlwind. Hot enough to melt wax, he is tantalizing, sometimes overbearing, and quite possibly one of her weaknesses. Lucas, having secrets of his own, understands pain all too well.

    Only time can tell what the future holds for them. Will Lucas cause Cass to question everything, will she be drawn to him? Or will they end in resentment?

  11. Finally, is there anything else you would like your readers to know?  
    First and foremost, I would like to say an author is nothing but a person with a bunch of ideas on paper, without readers!  I love to read, which astonishes me, I wasted years thinking that I didn’t.  I just hadn’t found the correct type of words to speak to my soul yet.  ‘Sharing is caring,’ and just as Sarah is doing, helping others is the way to go.  I will and would help anyone who asks to the best of my ability.  Follow your dreams, no matter how absurd people think they are my Loves, because it is people like you and me who light up the sky! 😀
Leave a Reply

