Guest Author: D.A. Cairns

My guest today is D.A. Carins, author of Devolution and Loathe Your Neighbor, and is working on a third novel that is expected out in 2013. Please join me in welcoming David to the Guest Author program!

If you are interested in participating in the program, you can submit here.

D.A. Cairns

1.      Tell us your name, and a link to where we can find you (blog, Facebook, etc).

My name is David. I write as D.A.Cairns. You can find me online at

http://dacairns.weebly.com.au

http://dacairns.blogspot.com.au

https://www.facebook.com/david.a.cairns

https://twitter.com/da_cairns

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17234804-loathe-your-neighbor

2.      How long have you been writing?

My debut novel, Devolution, was released as an e-book in 2009 and as a paperback in 2012. It is a futuristic mystery/thriller which tells the story of three friends who get LYN Covercaught up in something they don’t understand.

http://dacairnsdevolution.blogspot.com.au

My second novel Loathe Your Neighbor was published in multiple formats by Artema Press in January, 2013. It is a contemporary tale of a man who is good at making bad decisions.

http://dacairns.weebly.com

3.      Tell me a little bit about your current WIP.

Currently working on a contemporary story about how the lives of three very different Australian immigrants become interwined.

4.      What does writing preparation look like for you? Do you do full outlines and character profiles, or do you just start with a general idea and write?

Writing preparation looks like a pile of you know what. I just write when I feel like and when I have time. Sometimes the stories pop into my head without external stimuli, sometimes I get inspired by things I see or read, or hear. Sometimes by places, by people, and I’ve even been given ideas in dreams. When it’s time to put it down on “paper”, it can be pretty rough and crazy. I was seven chapters in to my current WIP when I realized I was losing control, so I stopped and started working on a chapter plan.

5.      Editing is a challenge for many writers. Give us some of your tips for editing efficiently and well.

I read out loud, and pick up a lot of mistakes. I have people read for me, and with Loathe Your Neighbor, my editor at Artema Press, Jeanne Haskin, did an awesome job with the manuscript.

6.      Research is another challenge writers face, but is an important part of the writing process. What are some of your research tips?

I Google or ask my social media friends.

7.      If you have been published (self or traditionally), what type of marketing did you find worked the best for you? What was the least helpful?

Marketing…arrgghh! My success is so modest that not only do I not feel especially confident giving advice, I don’t think I even know what works and what doesn’t. I reckon I have tried everything.  My list can be found at http://dacairns.blogspot.com.au/2013/04/m-is-for-marketing-and-lawnmowers.html

8.      What genre do you write in? What are some of the challenges to writing this particular genre well?

I don’t have a genre and this probably hurts me on the marketing front. One of my ambitions is to write at least one novel in almost every genre.

9.      What advice would you give to a writer who is starting out?

My advice to writers is to be prepared for disappointment. It’s bloody hard work whichever way you look at it.

10.   What are your writing, editing, marketing, and research goals for 2013?

IMAG0177In 2013, I want to have my third novel published, and for it to sell at least twice as many copies as Loathe Your Neighbor and Devolution combined. I’ve had nearly thirty short stories published but have not been able to crack one of the big paying markets, so that is on my list for 2013. I want to earn enough money so that I don’t have to finish my studies, and I can keep working part time as an English language teacher. I want 100 new members on my blog, 2000 followers on Twitter, 400 friends on Facebook and I want to eat my cake as well.

11.   Is there anything else you would like readers to know?

I would like readers to know that I value them as people, and their time. If I fail to entertain you with my written words, you can stop being my friend, and I will understand.

4 thoughts on “Guest Author: D.A. Cairns

Leave a Reply

