Final Editing Phase Commenced. Set Phasers to Blow Minds.

doomcatI’ve been talking about my upcoming book, The Storm and the Darkness, for awhile. It’s the second book in my series, and I wrote the first draft as part of NaNoWriMo in 2011. After some epic levels of procrastination, I finally completed the major rewrites and edits in March, and now I’m settling in for the final round of edits before it gets sent to my beta readers.

For anyone fascinated with the individual writer’s editing process, here is what my “final edit stage” will look like.

3 Phased Approach:

  1. Complete Re-read that includes some body/copy edits as I go along, but the biggest task is refreshing the story in my mind, and adding to my story detail/continuity notes for Phase 2.
  2. MIND BLOWING EDIT PHASE. That’s my mind being blown, not yours. This is where I take my pages of continuity and story building notes and make all necessary fixes and pray to Xenu that I haven’t overlooked anything. I’m going to become unpleasant during this phase. If bitches get in my way during this phase, bitches are going to get told.
  3. Final Clean-up where I do one last read and sweep to check for any remaining copy errors or story problems before calling it a day and sending it off to the betas to rip apart.

The goal is to have all three phases completed by the end of May, but I’m aiming for sooner because I’m a masochist and that’s how I roll.

 

24 thoughts on “Final Editing Phase Commenced. Set Phasers to Blow Minds.

  1. I can’t imagine what I’d be like during my final phase, but I feel sorry for Tommy when I get there ha-ha Good luck and I can’t wait to be able to be the beta who rips it apart……

    1. I know, I’m excited to get your thoughts on it! Especially since you liked the first one…this one is quite a bit different, so curious to see how well you think it fits into the whole Crimson and Clover universe 🙂

    1. I know, it felt strangely appropriate for this post, too!

      I think the best part of re-reading is that, for all the crappy stuff you find that needs polishing, you stumble upon an equal amount of stuff that is, surprisingly, good 🙂

  2. I noticed that you use a mac, an online friend of mine said that he use a narrating program on his mac while rewrites. According to him, he just sits back and listens.

      1. I see. well no worries, each writer has his or her strengths. when it comes to rewriting and editing, Some prefer the traditional method, others prefer the listening to their own work.

  3. I loved hearing about your editing phases. It sounds like we’re at the same point in our books, or very close. I can honestly say I’m glad to have that hard core bitch phase out of the way for this round. Now I just have to wait to hear out by beta bichez. 🙂

    1. Definitely the best and worst phase of editing…its great to know you’re so close, but the pressure is ridiculous! Collateral damage is not my fault 🙂

      Good luck with your betas!

  4. Wow, good luck! I’m very near completing the first draft of my first novel… very excited… and actually really looking forward to writing the second draft. Maybe I’m weird! Hope you nail it…

    1. I don’t think that’s weird at all actually. There’s something fun and sentimental about each step of the process, even when it poses challenge. And your first novel is very exciting! Congratulations on getting closer to the end! 🙂

    1. Thank you! Indeed, I always say first drafts are the easiest…you can just let the creative process flow, without worrying about whether its good. The second draft requires a lot more focus. And the third…well, that’s going to be even more painful.

    1. I know, as soon as I saw the cat, my google image search went no further.

      LOL @ your dog…my lab does that…much as I hate seeing her afraid, a part of me finds it endlessly amusing…

Leave a Reply

