“The Beginning Is The Most Important Part of the Work.”- Plato

For a very low price of last night’s leftovers, Miss Kitty will endorse your novel efforts too.

Not everyone has photographic evidence of that cardinal moment of their writing career: the moment they started writing their first novel. When I took this picture, I was only trying to capture the behavior of my new cute kitten, Miss Kitty, who would jump into my lap anytime I cracked open the old laptop. It never occurred to me that I was also capturing a moment that would define my entire writing career, and in many ways, my life.

If you look closely, you can see the name of the Word document: January13.doc. Although not reflected in the title, the year was 2001. I often named my writing files after the date started, until I had a working title.

I had been watching TV when a sentence popped into my head and would not go away. I realized this was my muse trying to get my attention, and so I opened the laptop and started writing with only that single sentence as a starting point. And thus, St. Charles at Dusk was born.

I’ve written about how the story was a real labor of love for me…multiple rewrites, years where it did not get touched at all, edits upon edits…but I finally finished and self-published it in 2011.

Miss Kitty, the unexpected wingman, is turning 12 this year.

8 thoughts on ““The Beginning Is The Most Important Part of the Work.”- Plato

    1. I know…I was thinking about the tags and I thought, aha! Well, there IS a cat… 😉

      And thanks! I was pretty happy that I still had this. Just goes to show, you never know what something will mean to you years later…

    1. Thanks for the comment 🙂 Its funny, at the time I just took the picture because I thought she looked cute…and only later did I realize what I was actually taking a picture of. I just wish it was a better quality!

Leave a Reply

