Camp NaNoWriMo- April 2013- Who’s In??

camp_nano_logo login-welcome

If you’ve ever been bored enough to scroll down the main page of my blog, you’ll see I am a 3-time NaNoWriMo champ. Every November, I basically shut myself off for thirty days and write a book. The other 11 months of the year, I’m thinking about what I’m going to write about in November.

So its weird to me that I’ve never tried either ScriptFrenzy or Camp NaNoWriMo, the other two activities sponsored by the Office of Letters and Light. In an effort to further stretch my writing legs, I had prepared this year to do SF (even though I know about as much about writing scripts as I do about building a skyscraper to code), but then they cancelled that program in favor of doing two Camp NaNoWriMo sessions (April and July) instead.

How does Camp NaNo differ from the standard November contest? From what I can see…not too much. It’s geared more toward a group support format, where you join a “camp” with like-minded writers and keep each other motivated (you can select settings to put yourself with writers of similar genres, etc. You can even select people you know). There’s also some nifty fundraising options if you’re into that. Other than that, the basics are the same: write a novel in a month. Bam.

It looks like they’ve made a few changes this year, too. They’re allowing flexible word counts now so you can set (before the contest starts) what word count you want to hit….so you’re not pigeonholed at 50k anymore. You can choose 20k or you can be a badass and go with 80k. They’re also allowing other writing mediums, such as scriptwriting.

So, I am going to add Camp NaNoWriMo to my writing repertoire this year. Camp assignments start on March 18th, so I’m getting all my preferences and settings set up so I can be all reared and ready to go on the 1st.

Anyone else joining this April who would like to be my “camp mate” this year? I promise I don’t snore…

(My NaNo nickname is sarahsarah)

36 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo- April 2013- Who’s In??

  1. I did it last year, and it was a blast. I actually rented a hotel room just for myself for a weekend, brought camping supplies, and made a little “camp” in my hotel room and wrote for an entire weekend. I wish I had time to do Camp NaNo it this year, but I don’t. Best of luck to you.

  2. i dont know how to get into your cabin, but i’ll follow your blog.. so.. please post everything fun and exciting here lol

  3. Oo, me! I’ve got a countdown thingy on my blog…which actually isn’t as cool as I thought it would be. Sad. But I’ve signed up for Camp and got my shtuff all registered. I’m bouncing with glee as I type.

    My hub will hate me for the entirety of April, but it’s worth it. =)

    1. Haha, yea my husband is going to be about the same, I think, but I put up with his random disappearing acts during major game releases so I think he can deal ๐Ÿ˜‰

      If you don’t have a cabin set up already, let me know your ID and I’ll request us to be bunkmates.

    1. I know, I love the flexible word count feature. I am trying to decide if I want to go nuts and set it really high, or just leave it around 50-60k.

      Added ya…hopefully it works ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Oh my goodness, I set mine for 20,000 and I’ll be thrilled if I hit it. I’ve won NaNo in the past but I had to give everything else up. Can’t do that in the spring. :/

        I’m looking forward to this!

  4. Aww man, I’m so excited. I’ve been wooed by the cool pictures of camping. I know this excitement will eventually turn to despair, but I’m trying to bottle it all up in reserve so I can fly through April.

    I don’t have a garden, so can’t set up an actual tent, BUT I’m thinking sheets and a clothes horse, if you catch my drift… Need to watch the candles though. A camp Nano fire wouldn’t be fun ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I’m in there as C. A. Mitchell, if anyone fancies sharing a bag of marshmallows ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. When I was a kid, I used to have one of those tents you fasten over your bed. Maybe I’ll have to bring this back into style ๐Ÿ˜›

      Do you know what your nano username is? I tried to add you by name but the silly thing only recognizes user ids.

      1. Groan, I thought that was it. Hold on, I’ll add you instead!

        I had a mosquito net-thing from Ikea. Was probably called ‘Princess curtain’ or something. But it was basically a mosquito net.

  5. I chickened out last November, just had way too much to do. This year though I am in! I have actually decided to to do camp NaNoWriMo this April and as a novice have set myself the target of 20k. I have a few things to take into consideration so wanted to be realistic. 20k in April, edit through May and June, do the camp again in July for another 20k and then again two months to edit and I think I will have set myself a routine. Not quite sure how long I should make my book, it is for older teens, but I think 40k words will be a fab start considering I have only done short things so far. Oh yes, I was a Scout leader – so can give expert advice on camping ha ha! Thanks for following my blog – I AM IN!

    1. I do pretty good with NaNo, but I’ve never tried to do it 3x in a year…but looking forward to the challenge!

      I’ve been putting a camp request list together to try and get some of us in the same camp…if you want, let me know what your ID is, and will try to add you as well ๐Ÿ™‚

      Oh, and for YA, they usually say that 70-90k is the magical range.

  6. I am doing NaNoWriMo in April for the first time and seeings how you have successfully completed it 3 times I was wonder if you have any tips for a first time person?

    1. Yay, welcome aboard ๐Ÿ™‚ If you give me your username I’ll request to have you added to our camp ๐Ÿ™‚

      I think everyone is different, but I can tell you what I do to keep myself motivated and to finish:

      – Do as much outlining/story boarding ahead of time (you can’t write anything before the 1st, but outlining is allowed). Writing is so much easier when you actually know what logically comes next, and this is especially true when you’re on a tight deadline.
      – Assuming you’re going for the 50k mark (which is about 1667 words per day if you write equally each day), try to set daily goal higher. Like 2500 or something. This will give you breathing room on days where you actually cannot write at all, which will happen even if you’re committed to it. There were days I would even write as much as 8k. One year I had scheduled a vacation during the last week of November, so I had to finish NaNo 10 days early. Sounds crazy, but its possible. And with Camp NaNo introducing “set your own wordcount” goals, I bet there are some crazies who are going to set their goal at 100! (On that note, you may want to set yours at 25k or 30k for your first time).
      – And finally, the absolute best advice I can give anyone doing nano is: Attempt to write words, not good words. The intention of the exercise is quantity, not quality. Send your inner editor on a trip to Scandinavia, and just type. Don’t go back and correct things during the month (my rule is that I only correct something if I know immediately what I want it to say, but if it requires any thought, I’ll come back to it during edits). Don’t worry about whether its good or not. Don’t worry about your grammar, spelling, or anything else. Don’t worry about any research that’s required (unless you do it ahead of time). Just write. After nano, wait at few months before reading what you write, but I promise you this: it will be at least twice as good as you remembered it, and you’ll probably have something worth editing ๐Ÿ™‚

      Hope that was helpful. If you have any other questions, just let me know. Always happy to help!

      1. Wow thanks so much. I am actually pretty nervous about this because I have always wanted to write, and publish before I am thirty and so far I have given up every time, without being confident. Now i am determined to prove to myself that i can do this. my user name is this. amnrir22 that would be awesome if you added me to your camp. I checked the “just surprise me box” My biggest problem will be not editing. I always do and well obviously it sets me back or else Id have several books by now. so I think that is going to be the biggest challenge. And I have started my outlining. I’ve got 2 character profiles, the synopsis, and a excerpt. All drafts of course. Nothing is final right now.

      2. Trust me, I think everyone’s inner editor is their worst problem ๐Ÿ˜› The first year I sat down and participated in was 2009 and I failed miserably because I kept trying to make it perfect as I went along. Then when I just looked at it as a word count goal, nothing more, I’ve finished early ever year since. And don’t worry about all of life’s distractions…if you can type even 60 WPM, then you can hit your daily WC goal in less than a half hour. Assuming you type faster, you could do even more than that in 30 minutes. Often I sit down for an hour and pump out around 3kish.

        You can totally do this ๐Ÿ™‚ I added you, so we will see if the assignment requests work.

      3. oh thank you. Yes, I am learning with everything i write now, even just my simple blog posts not to edit until the end so I can practice ignoring my mistakes. lol. I type between 75 and 85 WPM so yeah i just need to write for at least an hour a day and i’ll be able to stay ahead. Nice.

      4. Oh, and one more thing I do somethings, when my inner editor just will NOT shut up…if I really, really dislike a certain sentence or paragraph or chapter, and I know that I can’t stop and edit it, I will highlight it and maybe make a short note or two (why it was bothering me, etc) before moving on. That shuts her up and helps me move on all at once. Win/win ๐Ÿ˜‰

      5. That is an awesome idea. I will def. be using that. since this is my first real attempt at writing a book I am sure I will need that skill.

  7. Wouldn’t object to joining in, if you’ve still got a little space in the cabin! Tried NaNo for the first time in November, and it was a great experience, so I’m pretty keen on doing it again. And I’m totally excited about being able to change the goal this time! I’m a little bit insane… going to shoot for 100K in a month. Just for kicks.

    Which story are you going to be working on?

    1. Sweet! I love that you’re going for 100k…I was thinking about a crazy high amount myself, and I’m still debating it.

      I’ll check if there’s any slots…what is your nano username?

      I’ll be working on Book 5, but I haven’t actually outlined it yet…Books 2-4 were all about the Deschanels, so I feel like its time to write about the Sullivans…

      1. Well, what do you have to lose? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Come on, aim high – the worst that happens is that you write a whole lot of words.

        Nano nickname is kadarian.

        Heh. Enough of the Deschanel brand of madness, switch to the Irish insanity?

      2. Wow…I am genuinely, honestly humbled…I can’t tell you how much this means to me. This is the first time I’ve been featured anywhere, and I don’t even know what to say. This made my entire month!! Do you mind if I reblog and link to it? I need to share this ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

