NaNoWriMo 2011

November is still over a month away, but I am already racking my brain for my next writing project for NaNoWriMo.

If you’re not familiar with NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), you can read more about it here: http://www.nanowrimo.org/

In a nutshell: You have from November 1 to November 30 to write 50,000 words (to put it in perspective, that’s about a 250+ page trade paperback). To win, you only need to finish within the time frame. No monetary award; this is purely for those who love to write, and who love the reward of the challenge itself. You do get a pretty, shiny certificate though. I keep it framed at my desk at work so that when people ask about it I can flex my geek muscles and say, “It’s nothing. I just like to write books.”

Kidding! Kind of.

My entry for last year’s contest will actually likely turn out to be my second published novel if I can find the time to clean it up and stick a bow on it.

I look forward to this like kids look forward to Christmas. I get all fluttery inside just thinking about closing myself off in the evenings, listening to the rain, and sinking into a whole new world.  Of course, this year I’ll be on my Africa/Euro vacay half the month, so I will have to be even more hard core about it to finish in just under half the time.

But…like all writers, I love a good challenge.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011

  1. “… sinking into a whole new world.”
    That phrase really struck a chord with me. Many times I’ve closed the door, listened to the weather outside and gone into another dimension. It makes me wonder if you also suffer a separation anxiety of sorts when the novel has been completed.

  2. I do actually. I also experience it when I finish reading a book that left an impact on me. War and Peace was like that. I wasn’t right for weeks. This probably happens to me most commonly with series’. I still haven’t recovered from finishing The Dark Tower series!

Leave a Reply

